Tags

, , , , ,

open old book, a rose in a vase and a feather
I am aware that I am not one of the best authors a reader can find. Maybe everything in my writing; the content, the form, the expression, the style and the language need improvement.

I don’t even claim that I have gone through the most excruciating experiences in my life to learn all that is possible to learn from one’s life. Neither I am a disciple of any Guru worth his name, nor can I name a person that can be considered as my follower. In my entire life I have never ever felt that the God has chosen me to accomplish anything special.

I may say that I am somewhat satisfied with my ‘extraordinarily’ ordinary status. That makes me rather fearless about any kind of noticeable downfall that I can be subjected to, either externally or internally. I am aware that many people, living or dead, close to me or distanced from me, have contributed in making me what I am today. But, I am also aware that I am incomplete. My incompleteness is because of the incompleteness of what surrounds me and also what is within me.

I have a feeling that my satisfaction is ill founded. Why should I be ‘extraordinarily’ ordinary? Why shouldn’t I be ‘perfectly’ ordinary? To explore that humility, that simplicity and that ‘oneness’ with others; I write. As Promod Kumar Sharma I may be an individual, but as an author I become a social being. My publishers find it difficult to categorize my books. They write ‘Philosophy’, then, they hurriedly add ‘Religious’ thereafter. They are not wrong. Religion says, “The God created the man.” Philosophy says, “The man created the God”.

To do good to him the man has to simplify. Without simplifying things he cannot sharpen his understanding, notwithstanding the intellectual development he might have achieved. He has created so many complications for himself that the process of simplification has become far more complicated than we can ever think of. He cannot isolate himself from his surroundings. Whatever efforts he makes to simplify himself individually don’t bring fruits, because he is socially complicated; and, the efforts he makes to simplify himself socially also fail because he is individually complicated. I try to include the both in what I write.

While like all other authors I also want that people should read what I write; I want my readers not only to read, but to think also. I never claimed that I have all the answers. I only say, “That is how I am thinking about something, because, to me, that appears to be the right process of thinking to simplify matters. Once the things get simplified, solutions will be visible with small efforts.” There are no tips, tricks or shortcuts in the matters of human life; that I firmly believe in. ‘Smart’ solutions to life’s problems only confuse and complicate.

After writing two books and getting them published I have not stopped learning, experiencing, experimenting and writing. I am well immersed in that process. And, reviewing is a logical step in any process.

Half a century before it was not possible for authors to talk to their readers and their prospective readers. Today, it is possible. Taking advantage of the technological breakthrough, I humbly submit to all those who are taking interest in my ‘words’ that, in the context of my writing process “the search of wonderful words” continues.

PROMOD KUMAR SHARMA
[This blog is being presented by the author of “Mahatma A Scientist of the Intuitively Obvious” and “In Search of Our Wonderful Words”.]